H.H. Uhlig Award

H.H. Uhlig Award

The H.H. Uhlig Award is given in recognition of outstanding effectiveness in post-secondary corrosion education at the undergraduate or graduate level as exhibited by an educator who excites their students through outstanding and innovative teaching in corrosion. To qualify, nominations must be received within 10 years of the nominee entering the field of education. An educator may qualify who has effectively conveyed and instilled in students the principles and applications of corrosion science and technology, and has stimulated students to enter professional pursuits in defining and mitigating corrosion problems.

A maximum of one award may be given in any year. The recipient will receive an inscribed award and honorarium of $1,000.

Nominee Eligibility

  • The nominee must be a current member of NACE in good standing.
  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • Past presidents are eligible for this award only for accomplishments following their presidency and only after 5 years’ time has lapsed since their presidency.
  • Past recipients of this award are not eligible to receive this award again.

How to Nominate

Review the nominator eligibility requirements

Download and fill out nomination form

Review criteria for nominator eligibility

Return on or before June 30 to NACE Headquarters

For more information please email awards@nace.org.

Marc Singer

2020 Recipient(s): Marc Singer

Professor Marc Singer is a highly accomplished academic researcher, dedicated to corrosion education through conducting cutting-edge research related to the upstream oil and gas industry. Dr. Singer rebuilt the materials analysis laboratory for the Chemical Engineering Department and developed a “hands-on” elective course for undergraduate students. The course he developed involves determining physical, chemical, mechanical, and microstructural properties of materials after different heat treatment methods and then includes testing corrosion behavior of the materials. Since the Fall of 2013, Dr. Singer has mentored nineteen undergraduate, five Masters, and eleven Doctoral researchers on projects related to corrosion in shale gas production, top-of-the-line corrosion in gas transport systems, corrosion inhibition, and degradation of “3D-printed” metals.

Singer is with Ohio University, Athens, Ohio, USA.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 - Joey Kish
  • 2018 - Dr. Homero Castaneda-Lopez
  • 2017 - Dr. Brian J. Connolly
  • 2016 - No recipient
  • 2015 - No recipient
  • 2014 - Y. Frank Cheng
  • 2013 - Amir Eliezer
  • 2012 - Nick Birbilis
  • 2011 - Dr. Thomas Ladwein
  • 2010 - Noam Eliaz
  • 2009 - No recipient
  • 2008 - Sannakaisa Virtanen
  • 2007 - Srdjan Nesic
  • 2006 - Pedro Castro– Borges
  • 2005 - Patrik Schmuki
  • 2004 - Alison Davenport
  • 2003 - No recipient
  • 2002 - R.G. Buchheit Jr.
  • 2001 - No recipient
  • 2000 - G.S. Frankel
  • 1999 - R.G. Kelly
  • 1998 - No recipient
  • 1997 - J.R. Scully
  • 1996 - B.A. Shaw